Red-shouldered Hawk Camera

hawk chicks

June 6, 2006. The 2 chicks have fledged. However, this means they often perch near the nest for several days yet the adults continue to drop off prey at the nest and the chicks come back to feed. Right now I can see at least one chick perched about 20 feet from the nest. As the days go by and they learn to fly well, they will often be able to see the adults catch prey and then take off after them instead of waiting for the adults to bring prey to the nest.

This cam will go off line soon. But the Barn Owl and Black-chinned Hummingbird are still active and we should have a Pacific-slope Flycatcher cam up in the next day or two. This is the second nesting for this bird and she is still sitting on eggs. Thanks for watching!

Red-shouldered Hawks (Buteo lineatus) are one of the most common of the eleven species of birds of prey that nest at Starr Ranch. In this nest, the female laid two eggs on March 22nd and 24th and they hatched on April 24th and 25th. While the chicks are young, the female spends most of her time at the nest feeding and keeping them warm or providing shade. The male hunts for prey.

Due to the need to conserve bandwidth, viewing will be provided in five minute increments. You may however, log back on immediately after your five minute session expires.

The hawk cam will be offline between 10PM PST/1AM EST and 2AM PST/5AM EST

We're happy to provide this streaming video. However, it costs money to do so. Please consider a donation to not only help defray this cost, but also to support the programs at Starr Ranch. Click here to donate on line, or if you prefer, send a check to Starr Ranch Sanctuary, 100 Bell Canyon Road, Trabuco Canyon, CA 92679. Thanks for watching!

If you have questions or comments about this video stream, please contact .

Also don't miss our Wildlife Video page.

This video opens with Windows Media Player. Mac users can view it by installing Windows Media Components for QuickTime.